AHRC NWCDTP Postgraduate Conference 2016-17

Creative Humanities: Thinking, Making and Meaning.

Registration is now closed.

The AHRC North West Consortium Doctoral Training Partnership’s annual conference will take place this year at the Royal Northern College of Music, 19th-20th October 2016. The conference aims to bring together new intake postgraduates, current PhD students and academic staff from within and outside of the North West Consortium, both AHRC and non-AHRC funded. The event will showcase an array of postgraduate research from all areas of the arts and humanities in a variety of formats. The conference also serves as an opportunity to network with fellow postgraduates and academics within the region, and will also provide details of research training for new intake PhD students.

As transdisciplinary research, public engagement and creative partnerships come to the forefront in academia, the demand on researchers is to explore new ways of writing, interpreting, approaching and creating meaning. The idea of ‘creative thinking’ can on the one hand be associated with a business mode of production and innovation, but also present a potential avenue for alternative methods and approaches to research. Creative thinking can link to the practice based/led study of ‘making meaning’ through film, visual art, non-fiction writing, music and performance, or present inventive, original approaches to data collection, observations, mapping and surveying. Often, these methods of enquiry cross over disciplines, can involve collaboration with participants outside of academia and result in the formation of new modes of exploration. The aim of this conference is to explore and analyze these new approaches to creative thinking and making meaning in relation to our current economic climate and contemporary practices within academia.

The aim of this year’s conference is to discover and share ways through which we work creatively in research. The event is open to all areas within the arts and humanities.


Postgraduate Organising Committee: Jessica Beck, Laura Clancy, Raluca Matei, Gemma Meek, Jing Ouyang, Alicia Sanchez Requena and Michelle Stephens.